SOUTH DAKOTA COOPERATIVE FISH AND WILDLIFE RESEARCH UNIT HISTORY

- A proposal was passed by the South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks Commission to establish a Cooperative agreement between South Dakota State College, the U. S. Bureau of Sport Fisheries and Wildlife, and the Wildlife Management Institute concerning a Cooperative Wildlife Research Unit.
- The South Dakota Cooperative Wildlife Research Unit was established by cooperators: South Dakota State College, South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks, U. S. Bureau of Sport Fisheries and Wildlife, and the Wildlife Management Institute. This was the 18th unit formed in the country.
 - Dr. Paul F. Springer became Leader, Wildlife Research Unit. A.B. 1943, University of Illinois; M.S. 1948, University of Wisconsin; Ph.D. 1961, Cornell University.
- 1965 The South Dakota Cooperative Fishery Research Unit was established by cooperators: South Dakota State University, South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks, and the U. S. Bureau of Sport Fisheries and Wildlife.
 - Dr. Alfred C. Fox became Leader, Cooperative Fishery Research Unit. B.S. 1955, Cornell University; M.S. 1961, Montana State University; Ph.D. 1965, Montana State University.
- 1966 Rollin D. Sparrowe was the first M.S. student to begin and finish his program in the Department.
 - Dr. Richard A. Tubb became Assistant Leader, Cooperative Fishery Research Unit. B.S. 1958, Oklahoma State University; M.S. 1960, Oklahoma State University; Ph.D. 1963, Oklahoma State University.
- 1967 Dr. Richard A. Tubb resigned as Cooperative Fishery Research Unit Assistant Leader.
 - Dr. Paul F. Springer resigned as Cooperative Wildlife Research Unit Leader.
 - Dr. Raymond L. Linder became Leader, Cooperative Wildlife Research Unit. B.S. 1953, University of Nebraska; M.S. 1955, Iowa State University; Ph.D. 1964, University of Nebraska.
 - Dr. Richard L. Applegate became Assistant Leader, Cooperative Fishery Research Unit. B.A. 1959, South Illinois University; M.A. 1961, Southern Illinois University; Ph.D. 1974, South Dakota State University.
 - Dr. Robert B. Dahlgren became Assistant Leader, Cooperative Wildlife Research Unit. B.S. 1950, South Dakota State University; M.S. 1955, Utah State University; Ph.D. 1972, South Dakota State University.

1968 The 25th M.S. student graduated from the Department.

The Department faculty consisted of six members.

- Dr. Kenneth F. Higgins became Assistant Unit Leader. B.S. 1965, Colorado State University; M.S. 1968, South Dakota State University; Ph.D. 1981, North Dakota State University.
- 1986 The 150th M.S. student graduated from the Department.
- 1988 Dr. Kenneth F. Higgins conducted a "Grassland Burning Workshop."
- 1989 The 175th M.S. student graduated from the Department.
 - Dr. Walter G. Duffy became Assistant Unit Leader. B.S. 1973 Michigan State University; M.S. 1975 Michigan State University; Ph.D. 1985 Michigan State University.
- 1990 A Ph.D. in Biological Sciences program wa

The South Dakota Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit received the Division of Cooperative Research Award for Outstanding Science.

Dr. Kenneth F. Higgins received the Professional Award from the Central Mountains and Plains Section of The Wildlife Society.

1995 The 250th M.S. student graduated from the Department.

Dr. Walter G. Duffy conducted a "Bioenergetics Workshop."

Dr. Charles R. Berry, Jr., and others conducted a "Watershed Management Workshop" for the James, Vermillion, and Big Sioux rivers.

1996 Dr. Diane Granfors was the first female Ph.D. to graduate from the Department.

The Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit became part of the U. S. Geological Survey.

Dr. Kenneth F. Higgins received the South Dakota Chapter of The Wildlife Society, Wildlife Professional Award.

1997 The South Dakota Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit sponsored the 2nd South Dakota Watershed Management Workshop. Dr. Charles R. Berry, Jr., was instrumental in planning the workshop, which was held in Brookings.

Dr. Walter G. Duffy resigned as Assistant Unit Leader.

1998 The 275th M.S. student graduated from the Department.

Dr. Kenneth F. Higgins became the first person to receive the South Dakota Academy of Science Fellow Award. The Fellow designation was initiated in 1997 to recognize and honor members of the Academy who have made outstanding contributions to scientific research, teaching, and/or service.

Dr. Charles R. Berry, Jr., was named as a Berg Fellow by the Soil and Water Conservation Society.

Dr. Kenneth F. Higgins was named Editor for the Proceedings of the South Dakota Academy of Science.

1999 The 10th Ph.D. student graduated from the Department.

The South Dakota Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit were cosponsors of a 4-day conference entitled "Sustaining the Missouri River for Future Generations." The conference was in Pierre.

Dr. Steven R. Chipps became Assistant Unit Leader. B.S. 1990 Davis and Elkins College; M.S.

The South Dakota Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit received the South Dakota Wildlife Federation's Educator Award.

2004 The 20th Ph.D. student graduated from the Department.

Dr. Kenneth Higgins was co-chair of the 3rd Missouri River and North American Piping Plover and Least Tern Habitat Workshop/Symposium.

Sarah J. Bandas and Kenneth F. Higgins published "A Field Guide to South Dakota Turtles." It was published by the South Dakota Cooperative Extension Service and was 36 pages long.

Dr. Charles R. Berry, Jr., received the Distinguished Alumnus Award from Randolph-Macon College. Chuck did his undergraduate work there.

2005 The 375th M.S. student graduated from the Department.

Numerous Department faculty, students, and other professionals conducted a 3-day workshop entitled – Bird Capture, Banding, and Marking Techniques and Strayed or Nuisance Mammal Capture/Removal. The workshop was in August in Brookings and its organizers were Kenneth F. Higgins, Kent C. Jensen, Jonathan A. Jenks, and Spencer J. Vaa.

The Department became a charter member of American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS) Academic Membership Category.

2006 The 400

- Dr. Steven R. Chipps was elected President-Elect of the Education Section of the American Fisheries Society. He will begin his duties as President in two years.
- 2008 The Department graduated its 30th Ph.D. student and its 425th M.S. student.
- 2009 Drs. Charles R. Berry, Jr., and Steven R. Chipps received the STAR (Special Thanks for Achieving Results) Award from the U.S. Geological Survey.
- 2010 The Department faculty consisted of 10 members.

Dr. Charles R. Berry, Jr., Leader, South Dakota Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit since 1985, retired after 34 years of professional service. He received emeritus status from the South Dakota Board of Regents in August 2010 and has office space in the Unit support room.

Dr. Steven R. Chipps became Leader, Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit. His immediate attention focused on filling the other two Unit positions.

Dr. Steven R. Chipps was elected President of the Education Section for the American Fisheries Society.

Dr. Kenneth F. Higgins endowed a Waterfowl Legacy Research Endowment for the Department.